Winners 2020

The MLK Essay And Poetry Contest is jointly sponsored by the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee of Santa Barbara (MLK SB) and ADL Santa Barbara/Tri-Counties. Below are the readers for the weekend of events.

Friday 1/17 @ Eternal Flame Program
Kundai Chikowero (San Marcos High School)
Friday 1/17 @ CBB Worship Service
Bella Hofmeister (Foothill Elementary)
Monday 1/20 @ DLG Morning Program
Asiah Raymie (San Marcos High School)
Angel Hernandez (Washington Elementary)
Monday 1/20 @ Arlington Theatre Program
Summer Slotnick-Lastrico (San Marcos High School)
Charly Crane-Flores (Roosevelt School)
Alexis Persoon (Carpinteria High School)
Noah Slotnick-Lastrico (Washington Elementary)

All 2020 winners will be presented their awards on-stage at the Arlington Theatre Program. Here is a list of all the winners:


Ages 13-18


Alexis Persoon
Carpinteria High School

Asiah Raymie
San Marcos High School
Sasha Carter
Los Olivos School
    Illianna Ramirez
Santa Barbara Junior High

Ages 6-12

     1st Noah Slotnick-Lastrico
Washington Elementary School
2nd Angel Hernandez
Washington Elementary
3rd Kaia Drayton
Hollister Elementary
Ashley Hansen
Washington Elementary School


Ages 13-18

  1st Summer Slotnick-Lastrico
San Marcos High School
2nd Kundai Chikowero
Dos Pueblos High School
3rd Hialei E. Pangaling
Los Olivos School
  Svenja Leonard
Carpinteria High School

Ages 6-12

  1st Charly Crane-Flores
Roosevelt School
2nd Santiago Munoz
Roosevelt School
3rd Bella Hofmeister
Foothill Elementary